The Foundations of Education Society

(TEFS-Previously the Texas Foundations of Education Society)

In September 1986 TEFS: A Society for the Historical, Philosophical, Ethical, and Social Foundations of Education was formed in the Ming Room located just off of the lobby of the Menger Hotel in San Antonio, a room that no longer exists. The founding members were Terryl Anderson (University of Texas Permian Basin), Paul Bitting (University of Houston-University Park), J. Arthur Cooper (NTSU), Stan Ivie (TWU), Tony Johnson (UT-SA), Ronald Reed (Texas Weslyan University), John Martin Rich (University of Texas Austin), Paul Wagner (University of Houston Clear Lake), and Martha Tevis (Pan American University).

At this meeting it was decided that TEFS would meet prior to SWPES beginning in November, suggestions were made concerning the Constitution, dues were approved, and the goals of the organization were defined as:
1) Monitor TEA, the Coordinating Board, the Texas Legislature, the various accrediting agencies, and ad hoc committees answerable to those previously mentioned with the regard to foundations of education.
2) To coordinate and dissemble the information concerning the recommendations of such groups to the members of this society
3) Promote research and teaching in the area of foundations.
4) “Foundations” includes the historical, philosophical, ethical, and social foundations of education.

On November 13, 1986, the first organizational meeting was held in Austin, Texas at Embassy Suites-Town Lake. The members present were Terryl Anderson, Mario Benitez, Paul Bitting, Jim Bowman, J. Arthur Cooper, William E. Drake, Stan Ivie, Tony Johnson, Fred Kierstead, Ronald Reed, Kip Sullivan, Martha Tevis, William Vanderhoof, and Paul Wagner. Paul Wagner was elected president, Martha Tevis was elected Secretary; and Paul Bitting and Tony Johnson presented the constitution.